What went wrong?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What went wrong?

This was my first year with a Hotbin - it started off well but in the last few weeks it has got very squelchy and smelly. So today I emptied it right out. The photos show the difference between the top and bottom. The stuff at the bottom wasn't far off being compost but was quite wet. The stuff at the top is the lighter coloured photo and it was nasty. Any ideas what happened and what I should be doing differently if I give it a go again next year?

Hi AliB, I am a bit of a novice as I have only just got started properly with my Hotbin, but here are a few thoughts:

I wonder whether the upper part of the bin is getting enough air? If the bottom layer is becoming more compacted as it is forming compost then the air cannot get through. There is a lot of advice on the Hotbin website on possible problems and how to solve them and a lot of the problems seem to be to do with moisture content and air circulation.

How often have you emptied the made compost? I think they recommend emptying it as soon as compost is made: 1 month for mulching grade and 3 months for richer grade. If it has been there longer it may have stopped the air circulating. If it has been emptied more frequently it could be not enough bulking agent. Someone suggested to me, when I was struggling, that I poke holes down into the composting material to introduce better circulation but I ended up emptying the bin instead so I don't know if this would work.

Comment

Originally posted by AliB View Post